French Open Betting

By Betmaker Team

Founded in 1891, the French Open stands apart with its clay court, the city of France, and the Roland Garros venue. The French Open is the second of the four Grand Slam tennis events held each year. It is the only Grand Slam event that is played on clay. With its slower playing surface and the best of five men's singles matches, it is the most physically demanding tournament of any kind held each year. For this season, the French Open is scheduled for May 23, 2021, through June 6, 2021.

Gambling options include odds on the winner, odds on player vs. player matchups, and props. You can make bets on singles, doubles, and mixed doubles.



In like manner to Wimbledon, the French Open has unique and strict standards for the ball boys and ball girls, referred to as "ramasseurs de balles." Over 2,500 students, aged 12 to 16, apply for the honor, with only 250 selected. Weeks of training follow for those that are chosen.


The French Open takes great pride in remembering past heroes or nation and sport, which is part of its grand tradition. The fact that it is held in the city of Paris adds to its enormous prestige.


The Court

A clay court slows down the shot velocity of the ball while at the same time causing a higher bounce. Powerful servers are neutralized more at the French Open compared to other courts. The best example of this is retired great Pete Sampras. Of course, Sampras was known for his overpowering serve. And he won 14 Grand Slam tournaments for his career. Yet despite his greatness, Sampras never won a French Open title. The clay court took away his most significant advantage. Other legendary players that have never won the French Open include John McEnroe, John Newcombe, Venus Williams, Jimmy Connors, and Martina Hingis.


By contrast, players that relied on accuracy and finesse thrived at Roland Garros. Rafael Nadal, Bjorn Borg, and Chris Evert succeeded on the clay court in Paris. Only a few of the greats could win men's singles titles at the French Open and other Grand Slam events. To show, Borg, Rod Laver, Andre Agassi, Nadal, Novak Djokovic, and Roger Federer were those versatile winners.


The Venue

Stade Roland Garros is a series of tennis courts located in the world-renowned city of Paris, France. The venue is named after pioneering French Aviator Roland Garros. Garros was a World War I hero that was killed in ariel combat in 1918. There are a total of 20 courts placed on 21 acres of land at the Roland Garros complex.


Court Phillipe Chatrier is the centerpiece of Roland Garros, seating 15,225. Previously it was known simply as "Court Central." It is one of four main grandstands and the main one used for the French Open championship. In 2019 Court Phillipe Chatrier was rebuilt with steeper grandstands and a retractable roof with floodlighting. Eventually, the court was named after the French Federation of Tennis's long-serving president, Phillipe Chatrier.

The other three main grandstands are named Court Suzanne Lenglen, Court Simonne Mathieu, and Court 1.


Men's Singles Champions

At the beginning of any discussion of past French Open champions is "The King of Clay" Rafael Nadal. Nadal owns a staggering 13 men's singles French Open championships and has won four in a row. The Spaniard has set a standard that may well never be matched in the future. Since 2005, the only two men to win the French Open besides Nadal were Stan Wawrinka in 2015 and Novak Djokovic in 2016.


France's own Max Decugis won eight men's singles titles at the French Open between 1903 and 1914. Sweden's Bjorn Borg won six men's singles championships between 1974 and 1981.


Women's Singles Champions

The retired great Chris Evert is the all-time leader at Roland Garros for the women's singles championships with seven between 1974 and 1986. France's Suzanne Lenglen and German's Steffi Graf won six apiece.


Counter to the men's singles, the women's singles at the French Open have not been dominated by any particular individual. Since 2014, there have been seven different individual winners at the French Open. The last repeat champion was Justine Henin Hardenne in 2005 and 2006. In 2020 Poland's Iga Swiatek was the women's singles champion in a win over Sofia Kenin.


Serena Williams remains the biggest name in women's tennis and has three French Open championships, with the last one in 2015. Williams remains a top-betting favorite to this day.