NFC Futures

By Betmaker Team

The NFC is one of the NFL’s two conferences. There are 16 teams in the NFC, and this is seen as the elder conference as many of the teams that are in the NFC were part of the original NFL. The winner of this conference claims the George Halas Trophy and goes on to represent the conference in the Super Bowl. Currently, the NFC has claimed 28 of the 55 Super Bowls contested.

Currently, Green Bay and Tampa Bay are co-favorites to play in the 2021 NFC Championship Game.
Betting on NFC Futures


Every NFC team has made it to the NFC Championship Game at least one in its history. All but one team has made multiple appearances too with the Detroit Lions being the only team that has yet to win the conference. Barry Sanders led the Lions to the NFC Championship Game during the 1991 season, where they were hammered 41-10 by Washington. That means the Lions are the only NFC team that has yet to reach the Super Bowl, but they did win three NFL championships with Bobby Layne and Doak Walker in the 1950s.

The Green Bay Packers have lost in each of their last four NFC Championship Game appearances with Aaron Rodgers under center. Green Bay was the dynasty of the 1960s and won the first two Super Bowls, but the 2010s were not their decade. They have been good enough to continually get there, yet this team has lost four of the seven conference title games between 2014 and 2020.

Philadelphia was the hard-luck team of the 2000s. The Eagles lost three straight NFC Championship Games between 2001 and 2003 before Donovan McNabb finally led this team to the promised land in 2004. They were unable to win the Super Bowl over the New England Patriots though, and Philly lost the 2008 NFC Championship Game to Arizona.

NFC Championship Game Winners in the 21st Century
Year Winner Loser
2020 Tampa Bay Buccaneers Green Bay Packers
2019 San Francisco 49ers Green Bay Packers
2018 Los Angeles Rams New Orleans Saints
2017 Philadelphia Eagles Minnesota Vikings
2016 Atlanta Falcons Green Bay Packers
2015 Carolina Panthers Arizona Cardinals
2014 Seattle Seahawks Green Bay Packers
2013 Seattle Seahawks San Francisco 49ers
2012 San Francisco 49ers Atlanta Falcons
2011 New York Giants San Francisco 49ers
2010 Green Bay Packers Chicago Bears
2009 New Orleans Saints Minnesota Vikings
2008 Arizona Cardinals Philadelphia Eagles
2007 New York Giants Green Bay Packers
2006 Chicago Bears New Orleans Saints
2005 Seattle Seahawks Carolina Panthers
2004 Philadelphia Eagles Atlanta Falcons
2003 Carolina Panthers Philadelphia Eagles
2002 Tampa Bay Buccaneers Philadelphia Eagles
2001 St. Louis Rams Philadelphia Eagles
2000 New York Giants Minnesota Vikings

The Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers are the two most accomplished NFC teams in the Super Bowl era. Dallas has won more NFC title games (eight) than any other team, while San Francisco has made more NFC Championship Game appearances (16) than anyone else.

All 14 of Dallas’ NFC Championship Game appearances came in the first three decades of the game. The Cowboys have not made it to the NFC title game since the 1995 season when they went on to beat the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XXX. Dallas is 4-10 in the playoffs since that last trip.

San Francisco made it to this point five times in the 1980s, five times in the 1990s, and four times in the 2010s. The 49ers are hoping that the coming decade is like one of these three time periods, and not like the 2000s where the franchise was largely moribund.

Only two teams are currently unbeaten in the NFC Championship Game. The New York Giants are 5-0 at this stage and went on to win the Super Bowl in four of those five seasons (sorry Kerry Collins). Big Blue has only been favored in one Super Bowl, yet the G Men keep proving the oddsmakers wrong.

Seattle is the other undefeated team here. The Seahawks didn’t make it to their first conference title game for almost three decades, but they won in 2005, 2013, and 2014. Seattle is also the most recent team to win the NFC title game in consecutive seasons.