Ryder Cup

By Betmaker Team

Every two years some of the best golfers in the world from Europe and the United States compete for the Ryder Cup. A total of 12 players from Europe and 12 from the United States compete in match play format to determine the winner of the Ryder Cup. Unlike the Presidents Cup that has been dominated by the United States, the Ryder Cup has been very competitive. Since 1979, the European team has won 11 times, while the United States has 8 wins and there was one tie.

 It has been somewhat lopsided of late, with Europe taking 7 of the last 9 Ryder Cups. Normally the event is held in even numbered years, but due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 Ryder Cup was postponed to 2021. The 2021 Ryder Cup will take place from September 21-26 at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin.


Because the COVID-19 pandemic forced the shift of the Ryder Cup from 2020 to 2021, all future Ryder Cups will now be played in odd numbered years. The 2023 Ryder Cup will take place at Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Rome, Italy. The 2025 Ryder Cup takes place at Bethpage Black in Farmingdale, New York. The 2027 Ryder Cup takes place at Adare Manor in County Limerick, Ireland. The 2029 Ryder Cup takes place at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota. The 2031 Ryder Cup takes place at a yet to be announced location in Europe. The 2033 Ryder Cup takes place at The Olympic Club in San Francisco, California. The 2035 Ryder Cup takes place at a yet to be announced location in Europe and the 2037 Ryder Cup takes place at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Maryland.


2021 Ryder Cup

The 2021 Ryder Cup will be played in late September at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin. The Captain for the United States team will be Steve Stricker, while the Europe Captain is Padraig Harrington. Because of COVD-19, qualifying for the Ryder Cup is a bit different than normal. Each team will have players who qualify based on the Ryder Cup standings going back to 2019. The top six players in the standings automatically qualify for each team and then the Captains get six Captains picks. The teams will be finalized in September of 2021.

Some of the top United States players for 2021 include Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka, Xander Schauffele, Justin Thomas, Tony Finau, Collin Morikawa, Patrick Reed, Webb Simpson, Daniel Berger and Patrick Cantlay. Some of the top European players are Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Victor Perez, Bernd Wiesberger, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Danny Willett, Lee Westwood and Robert MacIntyre.


Ryder Cup History

The Ryder Cup began in 1927 with the first event held at the Worcester Country Club in Worcester, Massachusetts. The United States won that event and the next four Ryder Cups. The first events were competitions between the United States and Great Britain, but the U.S. dominated the event so much that it was expanded to include Great Britain and Ireland and in 1979 it included continental Europe. The 1979 date is really when the current version of the Ryder Cup began since it was Europe vs. the United States.


The current champions of the Ryder Cup are Europe, as they won the event in 2018 at the Albatros Golf Course at Le Golf National just south of Paris, France. The European team dominated the United States team, winning 17.5-10.5.


The Ryder Cup is played in match play format. The teams begin play with foursome and fourball competitions on Friday and Saturday. Competition concludes on Sunday with all players competing in head-to-head matches. There are no playoffs in the Ryder Cup, as matches that end in a tie result in each team getting a half point.


The Ryder Cup has 28 matches taking place over three days. There are eight points up for grabs on Friday and eight points up for grabs on Saturday, while 12 singles matches are played on Sunday. Since there is no tie, the defending champion team just needs to get to 14 points to assure they retain the Ryder Cup.


Ryder Cup Results (Since 2000)


2018  Europe                   17.5-10.5

2016 United States           17-11

2014 Europe                    16.5-11.5

2012 Europe                    14.5-13.5

2010 Europe                    14.5-13.5

2008 United States           16.5-11.5

2006  Europe                   18.5-9.5

2004  Europe                   18.5-9.5

2002  Europe                   15.5-12.5

Check out the latest golf odds at top online sportsbooks.