PGA Championship

By Betmaker Team

The PGA Championship is normally held in the month of May and is usually the second of golf’s four majors. Because of COVID-19, the PGA Championship was held in August of 2020, but it moves back to its normal May time slot for 2021. The 2021 PGA Championship will be held on the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort in Kiawah Island, South Carolina from May 20-23. A prize pool of $11 million dollars will be on the line with first prize paying out nearly $2 million dollars. Dustin Johnson is listed as the favorite to win the 2021 PGA Championship in golf betting odds at top online sportsbooks.

2021 PGA Championship Odds

Dustin Johnson 9-1

Rory McIlroy 12-1

Brooks Koepka 12-1

Jon Rahm 12-1

Bryson DeChambeau 14-1

Xander Schauffele 14-1

Justin Thomas 16-1

Collin Morikawa 25-1

Jordan Spieth 25-1

Hideki Matsuyama 30-1

Patrick Cantlay 30-1

Patrick Reed 30-1

Daniel Berger 33-1

Tony Finau 33-1

Tyrrell Hatton 33-1

Tiger Woods 35-1

Harris English 40-1

Jason Day 40-1

Tommy Fleetwood 40-1

Viktor Hovland 40-1

Webb Simpson 40-1

Adam Scott 50-1

Matthew Fitzpatrick 50-1

Matthew Wolff 50-1

Paul Casey 50-1

Rickie Fowler 50-1

Sungjae Im 55-1

Joaquin Niemann 60-1

Justin Rose 60-1

Louis Oosthuizen 60-1

Scottie Scheffler 60-1

Abraham Ancer 66-1

Will Zalatoris 66-1

Francesco Molinari 80-1

Gary Woodland 80-1

Si Woo Kim 90-1


All other players are listed with odds of 100-1 or more or they are part of the field.

Johnson is the world’s top ranked player so it is not a surprise to see him atop the odds board for the 2021 PGA Championship. All of the world’s best players are expected in the field but that does not mean a top 10 player will automatically win this event. Collin Morikwawa won this event last year and there have been plenty of golfers who were not on the radar who won the PGA Championship. That doesn’t mean big names can’t win this event, as Brooks Koepka won it in 2018 and in 2019. Justin Thomas was the winner in 2017 and it was Rory McIlroy winning in 2012 and 2014.


What you will find in PGA Championship betting is some decent value beyond the favorites. You don’t have to look far to find very good golfer listed at odds of more than 20-1. You can even find some top players listed at odds of more than 50-1. Morikawa is the defending champion and his odds are 25-1. Patrick Cantlay, Patrick Reed and Daniel Berger are all Top 20 players and they are each listed with odds of 30-1 or more. You can even get Tiger Woods at odds of 35-1. Paul Casey is still considered a top golfer and he is listed with odds of 50-1 and former major champions Francesco Molinari and Gary Woodland are listed with odds of 80-1.


List of PGA Championship Winners (Since 2000)

Year   Winner                            Score to Par

2020  Collin Morikwawa                     -13

2019  Brooks Koepka                          -8

2018 Brooks Koepka                          -18

2017  Justin Thomas                            -8

2016  Jimmy Walker                           -14

2015  Jason Day                                  -20

2014  Rory McIlory                             -16

2013  Jason Dufner                             -10

2012  Rory McIlroy                             -13

2011  Keegan Bradley                         -8

2010  Martin Kaymer                          -11

2009  Y.E. Yang                                 -8

2008  Padraig Harrington                     -3

2007  Tiger Woods                              -8

2006  Tiger Woods                              -18

2005  Phil Mickelson                           -4

2004  Vijay Singh                               -8

2003  Shaun Micheel                           -4

2002  Rich Beem                                 -10

2001  David Toms                               -15

2000  Tiger Woods                              -18


Most Career Wins at PGA Championship

Wins  Golfer                    Years

5        Jack Nicklaus         1963, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1980

5        Walter Hagen        1921, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1927

4        Tiger Woods          1999, 2000, 2006, 2007

The PGA Championship has been an event where some of the best golfers did really well but also an event where a player out of nowhere can burst onto the scene and win. Just look at what happened in 2002 when Rich Beem won or in 2003 when Shaun Micheel took the title. But then there are other times where class rises to the top. From 2012 to 2019 you had McIlroy and Koepka win twice while Thomas and Day also picked up wins.

Check out the latest PGA Championship odds at top online sportsbooks.